Sports & Culture Media

Bridgeman Named to Preseason Haskins Watch List, in Golf Channel Rankings

Media Release

Clemson, SC—Clemson senior Jacob Bridgeman has been named to the 20-player preseason Fred Haskins Award Watch List for the 2021-22 season.  The Award is given each year to the top men’s college golfer.

Bridgeman is one of just two ACC players on the list, as he is joined by Wake Forest’s Alex Fitzpatrick.  Bridgeman was one of 11 semifinalists for the Haskins Award last year.  Clemson has never had a player win the Haskins Award.

Bridgeman is also ranked among the top 20 individual players in the nation according to the Golf Channel’s preseason rankings for 2021-22, as he is list #18.

The native of Inman, SC was a second-team All-American according to the Golf Coaches Association and last year.   He finished the 2021 spring ranked 10th nationally by the Sagarin Computer Rankings.

An outstanding student, Bridgeman was named the ACC’s  Student Athlete of the Year for men’s golf foe this past season.  He was also named first-team All-ACC on the course and Academic All-ACC.  He was also named to the Academic Scholars Team list by the Golf Coaches Association.

Last year, Bridgeman had a 70.11 stroke average, third best in Clemson history.  He had six top 10 finishes in the nine tournaments the Tigers played, including two medalist honors, and led the team in rounds in the 60s with 13 and under-par rounds with 17.   Entering the 2021-22 he is ranked second in Clemson history in career stroke average with a 70.85 figure.  Only Doc Redman (70.70) is ahead of him.

Bridgeman and the Tigers open the season at the Maui Jim Intercollegiate at Mirabel Golf Course in Scottsdale, Arizona Sept. 10-12.

The list of  golfers on the preseason Haskins Award list are:   Ludwig Aberg of Texas Tech, Sam Bennett of Texas A&M,   Jacob Bridgeman of Clemson, Ricky Castillo of Florida, Eugenios Chacarra of Oklahoma State, Pierceson Coody of Texas, Alex Fitzpatrick of Wake Forest, Nick Gabrelcik of North Florida, Noah Goodwin of SMU, Ryan Hall of South Carolina, Cole Hammer of Texas, Bo Jin of Oklahoma State, Ryggs Johnston of Arizona State, Dylan Menante of Pepperdine, William Mouw of Peperdine, Trent Phillips of Georgia, David Puit of Arizona State, Sandy Scott of Texas Tech, Michael Thorbjornsen of Stanford and Travis Vick of Texas.

Tyler Butler