Sports & Culture Media

AEW’s Unrestricted Podcast – 2021 PWI Awards

Photo provided by AEW

The 2021 Pro Wrestling Illustrated Awards have just been revealed, and AEW made a splash—from “Rookie Of The Year” and “Wrestler Of The Year” to “Tag Team Of The Year” and “Most Hated Wrestler.” PWI Editor-In-Chief Kevin McElvaney and Senior Writer Al Castle breakdown the award categories, the winners, the runners up, and share thoughts on why they believe the AEW Women’s Division cleaned up with four big wins and how “Comeback Of The Year” could have as easily gone to Sting or Christian Cage as it did to winner CM Punk. They also share some of the funny and unofficial reader write-in awards (like “Stooge Of The Year” and “Hot Tub Time Machine Match”) that went to AEW.


PWI Editor-In-Chief Kevin McElvaney on MJF winning “Most Hated Wrestler”:

“The thing with MJF—I think we all can acknowledge he has incredible potential, solid technical wrestler, tons of personality, but just such a jerk.”

McElvaney on Jade Cargill winning “Rookie Of The Year”:

“Jade [Cargill] made such a strong impression on everybody, and that extended to our readers and a solid win for her in that category.”


Tyler Butler